The former two-cycle courses at the colleges turned into academic bachelors and masters as a result of the ‘Education Reform Act’ ( Structuurdecreet van 04_04_2003). This transformation required an academisation of these courses within the structure of  a university association with one or more colleges.  At the start of the academic year 2013-2014 the former two-cycle courses of the Erasmushogeschool Brussel integrated in the Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

Five associations were established:

Brussels University Association, Ghent University Association, KU Leuven Association, College of Limburg University Association and College of Antwerp University Association.